· 

English in Action – a fantastic experience!

Report by Hanna Rois

 

English only – that was the motto of the third form’s “English in Action” week with the three native speakers Andrew, Breda and Tayo.

 

Every day started with a “book lesson” which means that we did some exercises in the booklets we had got and afterwards we practiced with little games or similar activities. For me “book lesson” sounds really boring, but in fact they weren´t at all, because we didn´t only do grammar. We traded things like coconuts, grass or silver, or we did a walk through London. We also got some time to talk to the native speakers and improve our pronunciation.

 

Every day we had a project lesson as well. We formed groups of three to five people with the same interests. Then our task was to work on one specific topic and develop a game, an interview or any other kind of presentation.

 

When Tayo came in it was always fun, because she has such a good sense of humor! With her we did our drama for Friday. We wrote the whole script ourselves and at the end we were very proud but also a bit nervous because we had to act it out in front of our parents, the pupils and teachers at school.

 

The week wasn´t only funny and interesting. I think it really helped us to improve our English and understand English native speakers better because of the three different accents our teachers had -  Andrew is Scottish, Breda is Irish and Tayo is from London.

All in all the week was perfect for me!

 

My group prepared the play “Snow white and the seven dwarfs” - it was a lot of fun! I will always remember the fun experiences and conversations we had in the “English in Action” week.

 

Comment by Nadja Kasberger

 

When the show started I was quite nervous, but I did everything correctly. It wasn´t easy for me to perform on stage with many people watching me. But now I am proud of myself that I managed it.

I really enjoyed this week and I hope next year the pupils will also have the chance to take part in an English language week.

Comment by Ronja Wolfmeir